Four long years and I'm still here

Sooner

So I've been playing this game for just over four years since finding it on slashdot while working the graveyard shift at my first job after college. I joined the best alliance in the game, in my opinion, and have seen some of the greatest people/players/nations pass through here and the VE. The Green Civil War was the hardest time for myself as the VE community was a very close knit group. Thankfully, VE came back and I've never left her side since. Although brief stints in GPA and Golden Sabres taught me much of the world outside of VE, my heart bleeds green, which is ironic since I am an OU Sooner fan and grad.

I've been lucky thus far not to lose my original nation due to deletion, etc, although I almost came close once due to family emergency.

I'm proud to say the least that I've made some good contacts and in some cases, friends in the game. I still remember hawk_11 hanging out in the #ve channel and him help me get set up on IRC. Course one can never forget the drunken random ramblings of people in there.

The main reason I've stuck around in this game though, is because the mindless fun and how the politics of the game happen outside of the screen. When I was teaching (sadly I was one of 3000 teachers cut in my state due to budget cuts), CN was used to show how history in a game or a community can shape the events in that game or community. And yes, this game has many teachable moments for anyone.

And no, I'm not leaving but a few shout outs to a few people:

VE: Best alliance and home a Sooner could ever have.
GOD: Xiph and Z, you guys keep me laughing when I work late nights, and Z, remember Texas will fall.
hawk_11: Talk more in the channel man!
OMFG: You guys keep it real and remember, Barca before ManUtd.