Creating a Background In Rp..

Firestorm

I've been rping for several years in a variety of different RP scenes. I first started RPing in the old Mance realms of the Yahoo chat rooms and had oddles of fun raiding and pillaging the lamer Ayenee and Eden realms that inhabited other parts of Yahoo chat. I first did forum rp a few years ago and I found that I enjoyed it far more than chat room turn based role play. Mostly because I didn't have to spend hours and hours watching people spam chat rooms with one lined posts involving various anatomically impossible sex acts.

However, the one absolute constant in all of the role plays I've participated in are back stories. A back stories tells the story of your character and your nation. Without this story you have no real basis for your role play. In CNRP to many threads are scattered all over without any basis or foundation. Let me elaborate on this for clarity.

Example 1: Government of Ding Dang Dooey decides for some reason to go from a democracy to communism. This government up to this point has shown no signs dealing with a discontent population. It has no real reason to convert to communism and the decision has come as a total surprise to everyone.

- Now I'm not saying people should change their governments. But I do think people should role play out the reasons and actions that precipitate the change of government.

Example 2: Government of Boobie decides to attack the Govenment of Poopy. No real explanation is given and the government of Boobie seems to merely be jumping on a trivial excuse.

- Please people.. If you are going to go to war at least provide the IC credibility for a war. Explain why your government and people want to involve themselves in this sort of thing.

Example 3: Random announcement concerning totally random policy change with absolutely no warning.