Status of the Resources

LynnCreed

I was just wondering if anyone would rate the resources differently now that some effect Navies. I think they gave a slight (needed) boost to Lead and Uranium. Then again those resources still don't really help new nations. How would you guys rate the resources now? Would you say any have changed in worth because of the addition of Navies?

I ask b/c I have an idea to help balance the trade system but I'd like to know which resources need the help. The Navies might have changed where some resources stand but I'm not good at gauging how much.

This is a great question, aside from the idea of making a re-balance of resources suggestion. Another thing to consider in this is that Steel is now worth something, it ofres something like a 15% discount on ships, right?

First and foremost, every player should fill in all his or her available trade slots. The harbor should be the first improvement purchased.

No player should double up on resources: get 12 different ones.

Last, no matter what, the bonus combos are still the way to go. Even though some resources give discounts on naval maintenance, other resources that boost income do essentially the same thing, ie, make stuff more affordable in the bottom-line calculations.

I think at the lower NS ranges, the resources that make naval maintenance cheaper might prove to be more important to nations that want to build up a big navy. At the higher ranges, I don't see much profit in trying to minimize naval bills while sacrificing some other income or population boosting resource.

those are good points. so overall the resource values haven't changed much, then?

Honestly, I think you're right. There's a change, but not much.

I think the game will move more to a system in which we have to make harder and harder choices about our nations, and that's a good thing.