Who would ever want to be king?

Varianz

This thread will be my one indulgence to attention-whoring; I think I've earned it. I'm going to blather on about my time as Emperor of the Roman Empire, and then I'll make some brilliant-sounding observations about Tournament Edition.

I created the Empire in Round 2. We were pathetically small, mostly due to the fact that I was an incompetent noob. We were constantly raided, but it helped us to learn. Come Round 3, we launched what I consider to be the most effective recruiting drive in Tournament Edition history, gaining some 100 nations on the first day alone. I had help with that, from my two deputies ActionPacMan and Starchaser. Together we set the foundations of the alliance that you see today. In time, they left, and I was mostly alone, guiding a sanctioned alliance through war, rebuilding, betrayal, and isolation. We survived, we grew, we prospered. In time, we began to take a more prominent position on the world stage, culminating with our toppling of Harmful and ascension to the top spot. Round 6 was truly the golden age of our alliance, a true Pax Romana. Our power was unmatched, our enemies disorganized and scattered. I had grand plans, glorious plans for a new Tournament Edition, and it was all to start in Round 7. I thought us invincible, untouchable. I thought I had planned for all eventualities, readied us for any threat. I was wrong, though just barely. I did not anticipate Frostbite, that wild card, who's appearance changed the balance of power more then I could adjust to. I know that, were it not for Frostbite, the recent war would have had a hugely different result. Without Frostbite, we would have won. But it was not to be. Rome lost, WOLF lost, and the path of Tournament Edition changed. Fate makes a mockery of our dreams, a lesson I learned too late. Woe for what has been lost, but Rome endures. Rome always endures. There is only one thing I really regret, the destruction of The Shadowmen. I overreact