Aluminum Shortage?

Ruggerdawg

I'm a Trade Guild Engineer and I've been working on quite a trade circles recently. Specifically, I work on TCs with BRs of Beer/Fast Food/Construction+Nukes (with fish or lead). These require the same 11 resources with 1 filler slot. I currently have about 8 or 10 open TCs that all require Aluminum as a resources. Has anyone else noticed an Aluminum shortage?

I looked through the last 25 or 30 applicants to our alliance. None of them have Aluminum, but I'm seeing a lot of nations with Cattle, Lumbar, Spices, Wheat.

Are the resources assigned randomly or is there any way for the game to compensate for a lack of resources? I can understand limiting certain resources to make the game more interesting, but if that's not what is happening here, perhaps there's an unreasonable, and unintentional shortage of a specific resource.

Resources are assigned totally randomly. There is no compensating for shortages or limiting certain resources. Currently the game has 2800 nations of 27,478 that have Aluminum. Since each nation has two resources slots, the total number of resource slots in the game is 54,956. There are 21 basic resources. That means evenly divided, there would be 2616.95 slots for each resource. So based on the numbers there is no actual shortage of Aluminum based on random assignment. The reason there appears to be a shortage is the demand for it. 2800 nations can each trade with 5 other nations. That means a maximum of 14,000 can trade for Aluminum leaving 13,478 without any ability to get Aluminum. Yet Aluminum is needed for virtually all the major resource builds being sought ( the sole exception being some of AP/FJ variants). So it's a numbers game with everyone wanting to get Aluminum but only slightly more than half will.

The problem with CN is the issue with re-rolling nations because some resources are generally just bad if you compare them with the rest.