So how exactly do I play this game??? (absolute newbie here)

ViKtoricus

Seriously guys? Can someone give me a real answer? You two just snubbed me.

How do I play? Like, how? Can YOU yourself guide me?

Get trades, do tech deals, buy infra, buy improvements, buy tech to sell.

Pick your flag, edit your nations settings to create the best output, change government and religion when needed.

Get raided because you have no alliance.

The game is mostly lead by Alliances.

An Alliance is a group of nations working as a team.

Most of the Alliances will ask you to visit an external forum and register there and apply for membership.

If you don't join an Alliance, the chances of getting attacked by bigger nations are extremely high...

Most alliances offer the new nations some "help" to grow.

That's why everyone is talking to you about "Alliances". The chances of survival without one are close to 0%.

I don't know where to start.

So, I already have a nation and everything. And for example, let's say I want to roleplay as someone who wants to improve my economy, how do I do that?

I'm so confused.

The best piece of advice is that the roleplay in this game is run by alliances of nations, not individual nations. An exception is the national RP forums (http://forums.cybernations.net/index.php?/forum/72-open-national-rp/), the CN wiki and other similar ones in external alliance forums, but they do only constitute a small minority of the players in this game.

Most of this game is based on interaction, conflict and cooperation with others (unless you are a lone rogue), rather than self-representation

Edited by Dragonshy

Check out the Nation Building Guide posted about in this area. Also review all those messages that you got when you first logged on and pick the one you liked the best and join that alliance.

You are, of course, free to not join an alliance but people band together in these groups we