Death By "Bill Avoidance Penalty"

Gavik

Hello all,

None of you know me. I never really shaped the world of CN in any major way (despite my best efforts). I've been playing CN since 2006. I've had a few different nations since that time. I spent a lot of time in CN in various ways - joining and being active in alliances, editing the wiki, learning the history of its politics and generally exploring this free form world. I even tried to found a few alliances. I've made a lot of friends here (though admittedly I don't speak to many anymore) and even brought some friends into the game. This community was really an online home for me in a way over these past years.

Unfortunately, that is all over. I was out of the country for 3 weeks. When I returned, I found something new: a "bill avoidance penalty." Needless to say, the time I had spent away from the game resulted in my nation incurring an 8 figure debt: something that I could never hope to pay off. Call it bad planning on my part if you'd like, but new fees that amount to far greater than my savings that are added at random isn't something I had come to expect to plan for in CN.

I understand that some people were frustrated with the tax collecting and bill paying strategies of war time. I understand how this new penalty could be seen as a good way to combat that. However, when the feature is used to knock a peaceful nation into hopeless debt for the crime of not logging in every day, I can't help but wonder if it's really doing its job.

And in case you didn't know, when you haven't payed your bills, you can't sell infra, tech or land. I can't even take the amusing way out and fire off my nukes, as apparently the big red button is hidden under piles of electric and water bills. After all these years, my nation is doomed to go out with a whimper.